Homepage Forums How-to and troubleshooting getting started – what controllers?

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    prosody speaksprosodyspeaks
    Participant

TL:DR what is the cheapest functional system for tracked hand controllers? does Driver4VR + kinect 360 + 2x cheap bt controller achieve this? what limitations? if not what are most affordable functional controllers?

hi! i’m brand new to vr and pretty clueless. any advice on how to move forward (literally and figuratively!) really greatfully received…

what i have so far:

Rx 5700xt + Ryzen 2600 (win10)
    Samsung Galaxy S7
    Samsung Galaxy S6
    Homido (google cardboard type) phone headmount
    Vridge/RiftCat (paid)
    Vridge Controller (paid but is crap)
    Driver4VR (paid)
    playstation ds4 gamepad
    ds4windows
    steam vr
    kinect 360 (on order)

so far i can manage:
    1) vridge/riftcat + galaxy phone = HMD with inside-out head tracking.
    for now i am content with the quality (phone is 1440p, or 2x 720p i think, and tracking is decent).

2) DS4Windows converts DS4’s Dinput into Xinput, driver4VR converts xinput into 2x emulated vive controllers.
    this works, and is a great way to get started, but obviously trying to move hands around with joysticks etc is a nightmare.

3) i think i know how to set up skeleton tracking for kinect+D4VR, but does this give positional (and/or rotational) data for hands?

if not what is the most affordable trackable controller that actually works? i see loads of cheap ‘vr controllers’ on ebay, but can’t tell if they’re tracked at all, if not can kinect help? and if not, then how do other budget options compare?

fyi i can get:
    generic ‘vr controller’ ~ £5-10 new
    PSMOVE motion controller ~£50 (used)
    PSMOVE Navigation Controller ~£15 (refurb)
    PS3EYE ~£8 (used)
    Gear VR motion controller ~£30 (used)
    Wii remote ~£30 (refurb)